Ten Years Together

(LP) First Released: 1970

catalog number: 3105



Ten Years Together


(These are the notes from the CD release only)

The Best Of Peter, Paul and Mary chronicles a decade of recordings from a group that, more than any other, brought folk music sensibilities into the popular music mainstream. Combining ringing harmonies framing a consistently tasteful and moving song selection, with a commitment to social and political issues, Peter, Paul and Mary did much to define the new musical direction of the 60s.

Formed in Greenwich Village, the trio consisted of Cornell educated Peter Yarrow, erstwhile Village comedian, Noel Paul Stookey and Mary Travers, who at age 14, was a member of the Songswappers, a folk group that recorded with Pete Seeger. Peter, Paul and Mary's first album, released in 1962, featured the double-sided hit "Lemon Tree" and "If I Had A Hammer." "500 Miles" was another stand-out cut from their debut LP.

In 1963, Peter, Paul and Mary had three Top Ten hits in a row with "Puff (The Magic Dragon)" and Bob Dylan's originals, "Blowin' In The Wind" and "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right". In The Wind, an LP released late that year, hit Number One, while "Stewball" and "For Lovin' Me" both reached Top 40 chart positions.

Album 1700, released in 1967, the group's fifth million-seller, featured a whole new side of the trio with the hit "I Dig Rock And Roll Music". Dylan's "Too Much Of Nothing" and Peter Yarrow's "Day Is Done" were two more Top 40 hits for the group in 1967 and 1969 respectively. Peter, Paul and Mary's last hit, John Denver's "Leaving On A Jet Plane" reached Number One in the winter of 1969. The songs of Ten Years Together highlight a decade of association by one of the most influential groups of that era.